Where Loving your Curls Is a Lifestyle...

Meet The Founders  


Meet Britt

My Name is Brittney Venter, I am 27 years old and a Co-Founder and the Business Strategies Director for 4 Girls 4 Curls.  I recently received a Masters of Social Work degree and currently work as Social Worker in the Bay Area. I am also a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.  In my free time, when I have some (lol), I love social events with friends i.e. bringing people together and finding new ways to style and rock my hair.

My natural hair journey began early in my life, when I was in elementary school my hair was so damaged from relaxer and other harmful techniques my mother did on my hair from lack of knowledge.  After my hair was damaged so badly, my aunt cut off all of my relaxed ends and damaged hair.  I wore my hair natural from 4th grade to junior year in high school.  I had relaxed hair from junior year in high school to my 5th year as an undergraduate student in college.  My re-commitment to my natural hair was in November 2011, when I got my last relaxer.  I first transitioned from my short relaxed hair cut using kinky twists and other protective styles.  When I felt my hair was a comfortable length to rock, I did a big chop to cut of all of my remaining relaxed ends.  I have now been natural for almost 5 years and it has truly been the best journey of my life.

Having healthier natural hair has encouraged me to become healthier in my life overall. I have adopted a new lifestyle to move toward a healthier way of living and eating  I am so excited to share more about creating healthier and happier lifestyles with you.  I am looking forward to sharing stories and learning from each other on our journeys.  As always thank you for support and we hope you stay connected with 4G4C.

Hair Details 

Hair type: 4a

Transition or big chop: I did both. I transitioned from a short relaxed style and then big chopped the relaxed ends.

Favorite Products:

Shampoo: Shea Moisture

Co-Wash: Cantu Conditioning Co-Wash. Cantu Co-Wash

Rinse Out Conditioner: Cantu All natural hydrating conditioner, Eden Body Works Jojoba Monoi All Natural Deep conditioner

Leave-in Conditioner: Oyin Handmade Honey Hemp Conditioner

Styling Products: Eden BodyWorks All Natural Curl Defining Creme, Oyin Handmade Hair Dew, Ecostyler Gel

Oils: Jamaican Black Castor Oil with coconut oil, almond oil, Coconut Oil, Olive Oil.

Favorite Hairstyles: Flat Twist-outs with perm rods,two strand twist with permrods,  High Puff.

Hair dislikes: Heat

MEet Shavonte

My name is Shavonté Keaton, I am 30 years old and I am a Co-Founder and the Public Relations Director for 4 Girls 4 Curls. I am the mother of the coolest, funniest, most vibrant 6-year-old son. I am currently working as a post-bar clerk at the District Attorney's Office, as I just took the bar exam in July 2016 and am awaiting results (CA believes in torturing you by making you wait 17 weeks!). I have a B.A. in Psychology from San Francisco State University and a J.D. from Golden Gate University School of Law in San Francisco.

I was born in Georgia and lived there for 13 years but have now lived in California for 17 years. So I considered myself both a Georgia Peach and a California Girl! For fun I love to watch ridiculous reality TV or binge watch crime shows on Investigation Discovery LOL. I also love to read, sing, dance, put together puzzles with my son, eat great food and hang with family and friends.

I have been fully natural for 2 years 9 months. I big chopped on December 28th 2013 after transitioning for 7 months. My last relaxer was May 23, 2013! During that time I've explored many things with my hair and love trying new styles and color. I love my natural hair, I’ve learned so much about myself, and my hair on this journey and I love supporting other women in their natural hair journey. Thank you for supporting 4G4C, I look forward to sharing and growing with you!

❤️ Shavonte


Hair Details 

Hair type: 4b and 4c

Transition or big chop: I did both. I transitioned for 7 months then big chopped. I had a cute little baby fro!

Favorite Products:

Shampoo: Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo and Shea Moisture Manuka Honey & Mafura Oil Intensive Hydration Shampoo.

Co-Wash: Cantu Conditioning Co-Wash.

Rinse Out Conditioner: Tresemme Naturals, Oyin Handmade Honey Hemp Conditioner, Tresemme Curl Hydration Conditioner.

Leave-in Conditioner: Oyin Handmade Honey Hemp Conditioner (I use it as a leave in sometimes), Eden BodyWorks Jojoba Monoi Hair Milk, Shea Moisture Water Mint & Ginger Detox & Refresh Hair & Scalp Leave-in Conditioner.

Styling Products: Eco Styler Olive Oil Gel, Eden BodyWorks Coconut Shea All Natural Pudding Souffle’, Oyin Handmade Whipped Pudding,  Dark and Lovely Au Naturale Anti-Shrinkage 10-n-1 Styling Gelee, Oyin Handmade Hair Dew.

Oils: Jamaican Black Castor Oil, Tea Tree Oil, Coconut Oil, Olive Oil, Avacado Oil, Jojoba Oil.

Favorite Hairstyles: Two- Strand Twist-outs, Flat Twist-outs, High Puff, protective styles.

Hair dislikes: Wash n go’s